Today starts the Giro Rosa 2016 Big Start with the individual prologue in the evening of Friday 1st July in Gaiarine (Treviso). While waiting, the organization announces a top level start list, ready to fight in the most important women cycling race in the world on the Italian roads from 1 to 10th July. Boels Dolmans confirms at the start the World Champion Lizzie Armitstead and the actual Women's World Tour leader Megan Guarnier. Rabo-Liv Team will be with the last winner Anna Van der Breggen, the 2016 Cyclocross World Champion Thalita De Jong and the last White Jersey, as well European Champion Katarzyna Niewiadoma. Other very strong teams at the start are Canyon-SRAM, with the three times Italian National Champion Elena Cecchini, her compatriot Barbara Guarischi (Stage winner in Ljubljana - BTC City last year) and the former ITT World Champion Lisa Brennauer; Wiggle High5 will be with the captains Elisa Longo Borghini, Giorgia Bronzini and Mara Abbott, second last year. There are also big come-backs: Emma Pooley (Lotto Soudal Ladies) and Nicole Brändli return to the Giro after a long time pause. The Swiss cyclist for Team Servetto - Footon - Alurecycling, three times winner of the Giro, is going to gain points to participate to the Olympic Games in Rio next August. As well Tatiana Guderzo is back with the Team Hitec Products: the 2009 World Champion in Mendrisio is as well the last Italian rider on the final podium: she ended second behind Mara Abbott in 2013.

On Thursday 30th June at 9 PM in Piazza Marconi in San Fior (Treviso) the Team Presentation will take place, less than 24 hours before the individual prologue of Gaiarine.